In a yoga class today we don’t always get to teach our students what we learn when we go to Yoga Teacher Training…⠀

We have to just live by example… yet that is hard to showcase when you only see them on the mat for 60 minutes at a time…. or on social media sharing positive messaging ALL THE TIME🙄… hahahaha #guilty😁

These past few weeks I have felt this URGE to share the 8 Limbs of Yoga and thought WHY NOT do a blog post about it and put it out there that practising yoga is SOOO MUCH more than the physical practice (ASANA) which is actually the 3 Limb out of the 8 Limbs of Yoga. Limbs meaning stages…⠀

The first Limb is YAMA!!!! Deals with one’s ethical standards and sense of integrity, focusing on our behaviour and how we conduct ourselves in life. Yamas are universal practices that relate best to what we know as the Golden Rule. “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you”

The 5 Yamas:⠀
1. Ahimsa – non-violence⠀
2. Staya – truthfulness⠀
3. Asteya – non-stealing⠀
4. Brahmacharya – moderation⠀
5. Aparigraha – non-possessiveness ⠀

Categories: YOGA


Post Your Thoughts